Nintendo to release SNES Classic 

Riding off of the hype surrounding it’s limited release NES Classic, Nintendo has today announced that the SNES will be it’s next console to receive the “classic” treatment. The SNES Classic will release on September 29th for a measly $80. It will release with 21 games which include Super Mario World, Donkey Kong Country, Earthbound, Final Fantasy III, as well as an unreleased Star Fox 2 just to name a few of the classic titles that you’ll be able to replay.

According to Nintendo’s press release, in order to actually play Star Fox 2 you just have to complete the first level of Star Fox. Shouldn’t be too hard right?

The full list of games included in the console are as follows:

  • Contra III: The Alien award
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • Earthbound
  • Final Fantasy III
  • F-Zero
  • Kirby Super Star
  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • Mega Man X
  • Secret of Mana
  • Star Fox
  • Star Fox 2 (Never before released)
  • Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
  • Super Castlevania IV
  • Super Ghouls ‘N Ghosts
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Punch-Out!!
  • Yoshi’s Island

The SNES Classic will also release with an HDMI cable and two controllers. No word yet on if these will be easier to get your hands on than the NES Classic but I recommend getting your line waiting essentials ready now. I can assure you, someone will be waiting on this line while playing their switch, such is the devotion of die hard Nintendo fans. Stay tuned for more news as it breaks.

Posted in Video Games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.